Reviews from Our Brides

“Hands down the most effortless experience!”

Review stars

“She nailed my vision and exceeded every expectation! It was a wonderful experience from start to finish.”

—Heidi B.

Heidi in Her Custom Silk Bridal Gown
Heidi in Her Custom Silk Bridal Gown

“Hands down the most effortless experience!”

Review stars

“She nailed my vision and exceeded every expectation! It was a wonderful experience from start to finish.”

—Heidi B.

Angela’s Overall Rating

Review stars

5 out of 5 stars (based on 23 reviews)

Rated 5 out of 5
September 30, 2021

It is very difficult to find a “non-traditional”, non-white wedding dress of excellent quality. And with all things fashion not being in my wheelhouse, I was at a complete loss until I found Angela. We started with the color I wanted and a vague idea of the style. From there, she walked me through options and together we created the wedding dress I love: It fits perfectly, is very comfortable and is exactly what we planned. I am so happy with this dress and with my whole experience in working with Angela. She is honest about expectations, listens to your priorities, sticks to her timeline, responds promptly, and is professional yet very personable. I cannot say enough great things about Angela! She is a dream to work with!

Whitney M.
Rated 5 out of 5
September 21, 2021

If you work with Angela, you won’t be ordering a custom wedding dress but a work of art. From mere photos and a few zoom calls, Angela brought my vision for my wedding dress to life. She was timely, professional, and offers guidance that stays true to your goals while being realistic about how they translate into a design. There is something so special about having a dress that is truly one of a kind and fits your body to your exact measurements.

Betsy
Rated 5 out of 5
August 28, 2021

Angela is absolutely wonderful! I have been waiting on writing this review, because it is honestly very difficult to express in words how thankful I am for Angela’s time and professionalism! Due to personal and unexpected family circumstances, I was not able to have a dress made by Angela; however, I have been truly blown away and thankful for the time I was able to work and discuss with her. I appreciated how patient, honest, and flexible she was with me! She was understanding towards my situation and never made me feel guilty for taking her time. I highly recommend Angela, and encourage you to reach out to her! She truly cares for her customers and is extremely talented! Thank you dearly Angela, I hope to work with you again soon!

Brenna H.
Rated 5 out of 5
August 26, 2021

Honestly, I cannot say enough kind words about Angela and her staff. When I had first contacted her I had never tried on a wedding gown, nor had I put any thought into what I would even want. She got back to me almost immediately after I initially emailed her. We set up a time to talk, which was after my first, and only, time trying on wedding gowns at a bridal boutique. At that point I had somewhat of a rough idea of what I may want. Not only did she understand what I was trying to explain to her, but she also helped me brain storm more ideas to make my wedding gown completely personal. I sent her two photos (a front of one dress and a back of another) of what I liked and what flattered me and my body type. She was able to sketch up an idea right away and I could tell that this process would be absolutely painless for me since she seemed to just “get it.” The sketch was everything I was asking for and then some.
Throughout the whole process, Angela was on it. She constantly communicated with me whenever there were questions or decisions to make. She did not just ask me what I wanted but talked me through the options and which one might be best, leaving me to make the final decision. She really made me feel heard while at the same time helping me make the best decisions. I currently live halfway across the country so any fittings needed would have to be virtual, which was scary at first since you are paying for a custom dress and want it to fit like a glove. I sent her my very rough measurements (my mother-in-law and I tried our best but we are not professionals…). However, Angela did send throughout instructions on how to do the measurements and we ended up being actually pretty close, which shows how good her instructions actually were. Once she sent the mock up, we were able to facetime and so she could not only see the dress and fit on my body for herself, but also so we could discuss my thoughts and feelings on any changes. I ended up going to a local seamstress and facetiming Angela again so she could talk to another professional as the dress got all pinned up on what needs to be taken in or changed. It was amazing to watch them work together so easily and made me feel even more confident that this dress was going to fit perfectly.
Picking each piece of lace was a painstaking process, one that I overthought way too much…but Angela really helped guide me on the best options. By combining too completely different laces, she was able to achieve the exact look I wanted. She would send me photos throughout the process and update me on when they were working on my dress so that I knew how it was going. When my dress finally showed up on my doorstep, I was pretty anxious on how it was going to fit. But, the second I tried it on my jaw hit the floor. It fit like a glove; the perfect length and fit. It was unbelievable how amazing this dress fit my body through only virtual fittings and one mock up dress. I am very glad that I had Angela on the phone when I went to my local seamstress because I think that truly made a world of difference since she could voice things that I would not have been able to (mostly because I know nothing about tailoring or making wedding gowns).
I genuinely can not say enough positive things about my experience with Angela and her staff. The quality of material used was immaculate. The communication was consistent and comforting. The process was easy and relaxed. She truly cares about what she does and goes out of her way to make brides feel heard, supported, and tranquil (or at least as calm as a bride can be about her wedding dress). I 100% recommend contacting Angela if you are interested in having a one of a kind, completely personal, and absolutely stunning gown.

Oralee Mae H
Rated 5 out of 5
June 7, 2021

Where do I even begin with Angela Kim Couture!? I stumbled upon Angela when I was looking for someone to bring my vision of a gold wedding dress to life and my did I get lucky! From day one Angela was on top of everything and really listened to what I wanted and made my vision even better than I ever could have imagined.
This was all during COVID and I live about 1,000 miles away from her so I never got to meet with Angela in person. I was scared about measuring myself and wasn’t sure exactly how it was going to go but Angela nailed every single aspect of the virtual fittings and sent several “mock up” dresses to ensure the fit was perfect.
She sent lots of samples of the designs and color and we had a lot of FaceTime calls to discuss what each option would look like. I relied on Angela a lot to help me make up my mind because it was a big decision and I tend to be indecisive. She was there every step of the way with impeccable class and ability to see someone else’s vision. I can not say enough about Angela’s unmatched talent and professionalism. Take my word for it, you will never regret working with Angela Kim, she is a gem!
She is an incredible designer and I hope someday I get to work with her again. Unbelievable work Angela, thank you again.

Natalia D.
Rated 5 out of 5
November 6, 2019

Angela truly wanted to make my vision come to life! Every step of the custom dress process, she was there and made it easy. If I had an idea of wanted to change something, I simply texted her and communicated my thoughts and feelings to her and she without a doubt answered right away and scheduled to meet. Her communication skills are really what makes it easy to work with her. After she sent me the first sketch I knew we made the right choice! Throughout her whole process she makes sure you’re happy every step of the way. We sat together and hand picked every detail about the dress, she sent update pictures on the progress, and makes sure your personal touches speak through the dress. Loved every minute working with her!

Lacey B.
Rated 5 out of 5
October 28, 2019

Angela is AMAZING! She took my vision and made it even BETTER! She truly knows a woman’s body and how to flatter it. I was so nervous about how I would look in my dress because I had gained weight recently and Angela was able to create something that took all those fears away by camouflaging my insecure areas and enhancing the right areas.
Angela can literally do anything – she is a miracle worker! Other dress designers I worked with before her wouldn’t or couldn’t work with the type of fabric or applique I wanted and Angela did it perfectly without any hesitation. She was also able to create an outfit for my rehearsal dinner out of the fabrics from my dress to tie it all in together.
Everything Angela did was so detailed, precise and extremely well thought out. Every step of the way she made me feel so comfortable and confident in her. She completely nailed it. I am SO happy I went with Angela and so glad she made my wedding dress and rehearsal outfit!

Nohealani C.
Rated 5 out of 5
August 26, 2019

Angela Kim is THEE REAL DEAL! I had a very unique vision for my wedding gown and she was able to execute that vision brilliantly! Everything was gorgeous and the process was absolutely seamless…all of the little details from making sure I had enough support, to the meticulously designed embellishments, to the color of the dress (not white), to the headpiece/veil…it was pure perfection 🙂 I was driving 3.5 hours each way – 7 hours in total for my fittings and it was completely worth it. I can’t thank Angela enough! xoxoxoxoxo

Marve F.
Rated 5 out of 5
August 17, 2019

I wanted to look fabulous for my son’s wedding, but off-the-rack dresses don’t fit me well. I took some pictures of styles I liked, and Angela designed the perfect combination of the features I wanted. Her expertise resulted in such a gorgeous dress! It fits me perfectly, and the finish work is fantastic with cloth-covered buttons, lace edging, and she made two sashes of different colors for versatility. She knew just how I wanted the dress to move for dancing, and gave me expert advice on the length, fabrics, and details. She captured the look and personality of the dress I dreamed of, and I am so grateful!

Nina D.
Rated 5 out of 5
August 12, 2019

Angela is a wonderful designer. She made the perfect reception dress for my daughter’s wedding. We traveled from Florida to Asheville and it was worth every mile.

Cordelia M.
Rated 5 out of 5
June 18, 2019

Angela was an incredible find! After extensive dress shopping that didn’t turn up exactly what I wanted, and inspiration pictures that were ridiculously expensive couture dresses – I met with Angela and she agreed to take on my custom dress project with only months to go until the wedding! Working with Angela was a complete dream. She took the time to listen to me, she understood my aesthetic and body type, and she patiently and painstakingly updated me on the process, even though we didn’t even live in the same city. On my wedding day the dress was everything I wanted and more, much more affordable than it would have been had I gone with Galia Lahav or another of my inspiration labels. I can’t thank her enough for making my dreams a reality. She also helped me figure out what shoes, veil, and accessories to wear. It was a true collaboration from start to finish and I can’t imagine anyone else pulling it off so well. Thank you, Angela!

Breigh K.
Rated 5 out of 5
November 21, 2018

Angela is amazing. She went above and beyond to create a one of a kind dress for a family wedding I had. We worked remote and it was the best experience ever. We have already discussed future projects together. Her work is one of a kind.

Tiffanis S.
Rated 5 out of 5
November 14, 2018

So thrilled that I trusted Angela to make my bridal gown. She took my thoughts and vision, enhanced it greatly with her artistic eye and then made it come to life. She was extremely supportive throughout the process and she made the process FUN. I had never thought I would have my dress custom-made, but I’m so happy that I did. It truly was special to walk down the aisle in something that was one-of-a-kind. She also made my Step-Daughter’s dress to be my MOH and it was also just perfect.

Katie N.
Rated 5 out of 5
October 27, 2018

I first heard about Angela when I was in Asheville for a weekend and came across an article about her in a local magazine. It mentioned that she not only designed wedding dresses, but also offered the same service for mother of the bride gowns. I had just gone through the process of looking for a dress for my son’s wedding and was a little discouraged that it was so difficult to find exactly what I wanted and the right fit. A year later, when I was in the market for a dress for my daughter’s wedding, I decided to give her a call.
I explained in general terms what I imagined my ideal dress to be and Angela came through with exactly what I had envisioned. She goes the extra mile to make the whole process enjoyable and sheis always available when there are questions or concerns.
I did travel to her shop to decide on the design and fabric, and then a few times for the fittings, but who isn’t looking for a good excuse to visit Asheville?
I highly recommend her services.

Patricia G.
Rated 5 out of 5
August 11, 2018

Angela was such a pleasure to work with! She helped me to plan and design an outfit for my rehearsal dinner from scratch! I have a unique body type and struggle to find dressy outfits that flatter my figure and she went above and beyond to make me feel so special and amazing in my one of a kind 2 piece outfit! I can’t wait to wear it! I can’t recommend Angela enough!

Sierra
Rated 5 out of 5
July 29, 2018

I am not your typical bride. I am a bit of a tomboy, and I never dreamt of my fairytale wedding. Quite the opposite- I never thought I’d get married! I struggled in bridal salons. They weren’t listening to me or simply didn’t have anything that excited me or what I was looking for- simple elegance. They put me in fluffy puffy uncomfortable torture dresses that did not suit me. Then… I found Angela Kim. Hands down the most effortless experience!! She nailed my vision and exceeded every expectation! It was a wonderful experience from start to finish. I am now so super excited about my big day. It’s magically beautiful, just as she is! It was my pleasure working with her and I recommend anyone to go to her for a stress free experience!

Heidi B.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 27, 2018

After designing a wonderful “beach wedding” outfit to wear to my grandson’s wedding, I returned to Angela late last year for some help and advice on an outfit for my son’s wedding. The amazing brocade jacket especially designed to go with an existing dress was simply perfect. Working with Angela is so easy and she always makes sure that not only is the fit exactly right, but the garment fits your vision.
I recently had an opportunity to see some of Angela’s completed bridal designs. Stunning!!! A wedding in your future? Make an appointment with Angela and you will have the dress of your dreams.

Micki B.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 15, 2018

I enlisted Angela’s help to design a wedding outfit for my grandson’s wedding. I had specific requests wanting sleeves, something fun for a beach wedding. Angela listened. We worked together choosing the fabric and she designed the perfect outfit. I felt beautiful and comfortable. I’m so pleased. The amazing thing about Angela is that she will take your vision and make it wonderful. You will love Angela’s designs and/or working with her to make you feel beautiful and special for any upscale event!

Micki B.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 6, 2018

The experience of working with Angela was the least stressful part of planning my entire wedding weekend! The dress she made for my mom to wear to the wedding was stunning! The experience of working with Angela to custom design our outfits was one that the two of us will always treasure. She is an incredible designer to work with. Not only does she have an amazing sense of design and attention to detail, but she really listens to her customers to create something special, unique, and beautiful!

Helene
Rated 5 out of 5
July 3, 2018

This is my first experience with a custom designer and I truly could not be happier! The gown Angela designed for my son’s wedding is perfect. The fabric exquisite and the fittings flawless. Angela made me feel very comfortable throughput the experience. I highly recommend Angela Kim.

Susan
Rated 5 out of 5
October 13, 2017

Angela Kim’s designs are beautiful, sophisticated, and versatile. Her pieces are perfect for an elegant night on the town. The fit is incredibly flattering. I am so excited to find my next favorite piece from Angela!

Sarah R.
Rated 5 out of 5
June 7, 2017

When my mom originally contacted Angela about a mother of the bride dress I am sure she didn’t expect to make four dresses for my wedding. After trying on wedding dresses and finding a silhouette I loved, I asked Angela if she would be able to design and create my wedding dress. Angela did an amazing job capturing the elegant silhouette and subtle details that I wanted in the dress. In a last minute decision I decided to not go with a white fabric, instead we picked a beautiful grayish lavender which, of course, clashed with the junior attendants dresses I bought online. With only a few weeks until the wedding we asked Angela if she would we able to make us two dresses for my 10 and 8 year old cousins. Lifesaver that she is Angela agreed.
Angela was amazingly flexible and really a joy to work with. She always made sure that we were getting what we wanted, but also gave great advice and guidance on decisions. She really went above and beyond with the dresses she created for us and I know she would do the same for you!

Madison

Submit a Review

Thanks to all of our brides!

Angela appreciates her brides taking the time to write a few words about their experience  with Angela Kim Couture.  She aims to make everyone’s design experience a fun and memorable part of their bridal journeys.

For her, it is both a pleasure and a privilege to play a part in her brides’ big day. Many thanks to all of you for sharing your inspirations, your visions and your dreams with her.  She loves to do this work and it all starts with you!